About the Poster
Sign in or register to see this poster's details, including:
  • When they joined Kijiji
  • How quickly they respond
    Typical response time is a range that is based on a poster's overall reply activity, through either email or in-app messaging. Learn more.
  • Other ads they have posted
  • Phone number (if available)
Contact Poster

Important Safety Warning:

Avoid fraud by meeting all sellers in-person to pay for items. Kijiji does not offer any transaction or payment services. Read More Safety Tips

Date Listed 26-Nov-16
Address Edmonton, AB T6L6L9
View map

For Sale By Owner

Track Listing
1. Common People
2. It Hasn't Happened Yet
3. You'll Have Time
4. That's Me Trying
5. What Have You Done
6. Together
7. Familiar Love
8. Ideal Woman
9. Has Been
10. I Can't Get Behind That
11. Real

Contributing Artists: Ben Folds, Henry Rollins, Joe Jackson, Aimee Mann
Producer: Ben Folds
Distributor: Sony Music Distribution (
Recording Type: Studio
Recording Mode: Stereo

Album Notes
Personnel: William Shatner (vocals); William Shatner; Brad Paisley (vocals, guitar); Ben Folds (vocals, piano, tack piano, electric piano, organ, Wurlitzer organ, keyboards, synthesizer, bass guitar, drums, background vocals); Sebastian Steinberg (vocals, bass instrument, upright bass); Lemon Jelly (various instruments, programming); John Mark Painter (guitar, baritone guitar, trumpet, bass guitar, background vocals); Lindsay Jamieson (drums); Joe Jackson (vocals, piano); Henry Rollins, Aimee Mann (vocals); Jon Auer (guitar, background vocals); Adrian Belew (guitar); Matt Chamberlain (drums, percussion); Louisville Common People's Choir (background vocals).Audio Mixers: Joe Costa; Ben Folds.Liner Note Author: Ben Folds.Photographers: Jeri Heiden; Frally Folds.Arranger: Ben Folds.Actor, author, pitchman, and recording artist, William Shatner has become a virtual pop icon, in no small part due to his portrayal of Captain James T. Kirk in the STAR TREK TV show and films. While his past recordings have been known for their camp value (including a bizarre version of Bob Dylan's "Mr. Tambourine Man"), HAS BEEN finds Shatner venturing into Serious Artistic Statement territory. Here Shatner recites his lyrics in a stentorian, animated tone and runs through a reflective take on Pulp's "Common People," aided by Joe Jackson and Ben Folds, who provides bright, elegant arrangements throughout the record. (In addition to Jackson and Folds, the album's guest list includes Aimee Man and Brad Paisley.)HAS BEEN is vastly enjoyable because Shatner refuses to take his seriousness too seriously--the tirade "I Can't Get Behind That" (which features fellow actor, author, pitchman, and recording artist Henry Rollins) includes a playful dig at himself. Drawing inspiration from and making forays into rock, country music, electronica, Western movie soundtracks, and Beat poetry, Shatner proves there is no medium he cannot master, no genre he cannot subvert.

Editorial Reviews
3 stars out of 5 - [B]ig issues - death, love, a life's work - are chewed over with bittersweet humour and musical sophistication.

3 stars out of 5 - [I]t is definitely deserving of the cult status that it will inevitably earn.
Sponsored Links:

My Favourites ()

Recently Added: