About the Poster
Sign in or register to see this poster's details, including:
  • When they joined Kijiji
  • How quickly they respond
    Close
    Typical response time is a range that is based on a poster's overall reply activity, through either email or in-app messaging. Learn more.
  • Other ads they have posted
  • Phone number (if available)
Contact Poster

Important Safety Warning:

Avoid fraud by meeting all sellers in-person to pay for items. Kijiji does not offer any transaction or payment services. Read More Safety Tips

Date Listed 08-Jan-17
Price
Please Contact
Address , Courtenay BC, Canada
View map

Furnished Yes
Pet Friendly Yes

Hello!

I’m a spirited single female living in the Courtenay/Cumberland area. I’m looking for a reduced rent/work exchange situation. For anyone looking to rent a room long term and needing a hand. With space to grow.

I moved to BC from Ontario over 3 years ago. I was raised around fruit trees, berries, garden beds, exotic plants and spoiled with outdoor pursuits all year long. Farms and forests are my preferred living & working environment (but cities are cool with me).

I’m ready to help with most tasks; cutting & stacking firewood, yard, garden and house chores, preparing for winter, painting, etc. I’m very, very keen to learn any aspect of food drying, freezing, fermenting, canning and storing! This is priceless knowledge to me. Food is love. And I love food! I’m keen to pitch in where I can and I’m excellent at cleaning and organizing cluttered spaces.

What haven’t I done? Baking, cooking, cleaning, landscaping, greenhouse/nursery, order picking, security, administration, dispatch, dog walking, salal picking, harvesting, roofing, renovation, drove an ice cream truck, art instruction, horseback/dog sled guiding, bartending, waitressing, hospitality, souvenir shop on a reality show, berry picking, nanny on a cattle ranch, caregiver, special needs and 6 years as a child and youth worker. All transferable skills.

I’ve been working in hospitality since 2014. Managing a bed & breakfast in Kitsilano over the winter (awesome job!) and serving at a ski lodge in Golden BC. Over the summer (also amazing!) I’m great at keeping a home clean, laundry, light maintenance, inventory supply and pet care. I also understand the importance of privacy in a shared space. I eat everything! I’m too old and not rich enough to be picky ;) so I don’t care what anyone else eats and I’m flexible with how people live.

I'm a Canadian citizen, raised in southern Ontario. Born in Guyana (next to Venezuela, 2 over from Papillon), my family has always lived in riparian environments. Guyana is the only English speaking country in South America (Final Jeopardy fun fact) English is the only language I speak. I read French (l’anana?) and use redneck and Russian accents fluently. I’ve worked on organic farms all over North America and on island in Ucluelet and Central Saanich. I’ve gathered at Pennsylvania ’99, Utah ‘03 and West Virginia ‘05.

I cannot resist an opportunity to observe, learn and/or help (and ask questions).

I’m reliable, smart, friendly, optimistic, open minded and down to earth. I have a lot of common sense which I realize, is not so common. I consider weird a compliment. I get along well with different types of animals and various ages of humans. When I moved to Vancouver last winter I started volunteering with incredible assistance dogs in an advanced kennel.

I am looking for a living situation which allows for a dog.

Since I was a child (and due to my fortune being raised by grandparents) I’ve always loved to volunteer, meet new people, and celebrate different cultures and religious events (free food, refreshments).

My interests include poking about in nature; fishing, hiking, hunting, boating, watching anything that moves, etc. (so I’m pretty jazzed about fossils, not so much about caves; the descent, the descent 2), creating art, jury rigging, cooking, photography, reading, writing, trying new things and playing the drums. Don’t worry. I don’t have a drum kit. I do have great references, no criminal record, allergies, cigarettes or alcoholism. I do like coffee at 4:20 and will accept a free craft beer or glass of wine because that's just good advice. And some of these libations are incredibly flavourful and skillfully crafted!

If you think I might be a good fit drop me a line. Or if you know someone looking for a long term renter, don't hesitate to let them know about me!

I’m committed to securing a place for February 1st. I have no children or excess cargo, just a great little vehicle, a little puppers and some house plants.

Thanks very much for your time.
All the best in the new year!
Visits: 
Sponsored Links:

My Favourites ()

Recently Added: