Live-in/Co-Owner/Housemate Wanted for Urban Ecovillage Project

$620.00
Posted over a month ago
70 Cambrian Dr, Calgary, AB T2K 1P2, Canada(View Map)
  • Furnished
    Yes
  • Pet Friendly
    No

Description

Welcome to our Cooperative Living Space, we are a diverse group of adults (age 22-44), living together and enjoying the support and fun that comes with sharing the joys and challenges of our lives.

We are passionate about cooperative living, have close connections with similar homes in Calgary; Louis, Jordan, Ezgi and Katherine are in the process of starting/joining a intentional community in a rural location

Located on Cambrian Drive, just north of SAIT, the house is a modern and recently renovated 6-bedroom two-bathroom home, with a large comfortable common area (often used for dancing, a workout room, and cosy meditation/meeting room. There's lots of fridge space, with 4 fridges and a standup freezer for you to use. There is some minimal storage space also available.

Location: ->10 minute walk to Confederation Park ->30 second walk to the nearest bus stop (#5) ->Just blocks away from SAIT ->11 min bike ride/7 min drive to Kensington/Sunnyside ->19 min bike ride to U of C

Roommates are actively working towards supporting the community in our neighbourhood. We typically do the following things together but it changes frequently and it depends on the current interest of those living here.

We are currently starting a three months engagement to learn and fully implement a mode of governance called Sociocracy, a fair, effective and participatory method of governance. Not every one is engaged in this, but most of the group is doing it. We take regular walk at the end of the evening and share about 10 minutes of meditation together. We host movie nights on Friday. We cook for each other and share many meals, during which we check-in on announcement and each other day and we host community potlucks 1x week. We do heart-sharing sessions often, to stay connected to each other's lives and passions; and we practice Non-Violent Communications (NVC). We have planted a shared organic garden in the backyard, We have hosted study groups and workshops on Non-violent communication (NVC) and Sociocracy and other skills that support thriving cooperative groups.

Our longer-term goal is to develop a shared workplace and a number of living spaces -- both in the country and in the city -- and a community lifestyle that offers the context and tools for people to create a stronger people-centric culture in the world.

Aims: ->Form a research group to prove for themselves that we can replicate best practices in intentional community, and/or collective work ->Pursue capacity building: governance, communication, self-healing, patience, self-wiring our own culture ->Be a center of demonstration of these ideas into practice ->Help develop in the world the skills of leadership, and the rich relationships needed to help a broader transition to popular, people-centric power ->Recruit a group of people to live together and accomplish the above

Our house operates with a few core agreements which helps us run a happy and respectful place to live. ->We respect quiet hours between 9pm-7am. ->We talk about everything early before they get entangled so life is more harmonious ->We have a 0 tolerance policy for illegal activity/drugs inside the house. ->There is very little alcohol being consumed in the home ->There is no smoking inside the house; incense and sage are fine in moderation and respect for roommates needs.

The rooms are simply furnished with bed/nightstand and lamps. Double occupancy is possible for a couple, or parent/kid and would be 1.25x rates.

We have one room available. It is the master bedroom of the house on the main floor. It has a large window, lots of light and a view on the pine three just outside. It is available for $ 620/Month. Short term rent is possible at $ 40 per night with minimum of seven nights.

Our requirements for a housemate is to be looking for a long-term home for 1+ years, doing well in their life, be open to live in a place with six friendly people and two cats, have a desire for cooperative living, personal growth, demonstrate skills in nonviolent/compassionate communication, and be interested in supporting, ecological sustainability and alternative culture, such as holistic health, education, permaculture, yoga, meditation etc. In addition, we want to welcome people who have a reputation for doing generally well in groups, have a track record of financial stability. For the protection of our project and each other, we check references.

We are seeking one housemate to join the two AFAB nonbinary people and four men. We would be open to children if it's the right people, you'd be sharing a room.

The house is owned by Louis who lives with us. In our everyday life, we work as professional cartoonist, civil servant for new immigrants government agency, studying art, or are looking future work a number of us can do together. We also live with Merlin and Blake, two cats that are precious and wonderful to us.

Take steps to make your Kijiji transactions as secure as possible by following our suggested safety tips.Read our Safety Tips

My Favourites ()

Recently Added: